Opinion_HowDoYouKnowaHumanWroteThis_-TheNewYorkTimes.pdf

3/27/22, 9:08 AMOpinion | How Do You Know a Human Wrote This? – The New York Times
Page 1 of 4https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/29/opinion/gpt-3-ai-automation.html

Machines are gaining the ability to write, and they are getting terrifyingly good at it.
July 29, 2020
By Farhad ManjooOpinion Columnist
To hear more audio stories from publishers like The New York Times, download Audm for iPhone or Android.
I’ve never really worried that computers might be gunning for my job. To tell the truth, often, I pray for
it. How much better would my life be — how much better would my editor’s life be, to say nothing of the
poor readers — if I could ask an all-knowing machine to suggest the best way to start this column? It
would surely beat my usual writing process, which involves clawing at my brain with a rusty pickax in
the dim hope that a few flakes of wisdom and insight might, like dandruff, settle on the page.
See what I mean? A computer might have helped there. (Like dandruff? That’s what you’re going with,
Farhad?) But we writers can be a cocky bunch. Writing is something of an inexplicable trick, and it
feels, like telling a joke or making a soufflé, like an inviolably human endeavor.
I’ve never really worried that a computer might take my job because it’s never seemed remotely
possible. Not infrequently, my phone thinks I meant to write the word “ducking.” A computer writing a
newspaper column? That’ll be the day.
Well, writer friends, the day is nigh. This month, OpenAI, an artificial-intelligence research lab based in
San Francisco, began allowing limited access to a piece of software that is at once amazing, spooky,
humbling and more than a little terrifying.
OpenAI’s new software, called GPT-3, is by far the most powerful “language model” ever created. A
language model is an artificial intelligence system that has been trained on an enormous corpus of text;
with enough text and enough processing, the machine begins to learn probabilistic connections between
How Do You Know a Human Wrote This?

3/27/22, 9:08 AMOpinion | How Do You Know a Human Wrote This? – The New York Times
Page 2 of 4https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/29/opinion/gpt-3-ai-automation.html
words. More plainly: GPT-3 can read and write. And not badly, either.
Software like GPT-3 could be enormously useful. Machines that can understand and respond to humans
in our own language could create more helpful digital assistants, more realistic video game characters,
or virtual teachers personalized to every student’s learning style. Instead of writing code, one day you
might create software just by telling machines what to do.
OpenAI has given just a few hundred software developers access to GPT-3, and many have been filling
Twitter over the last few weeks with demonstrations of its surprising capabilities, which range from the
mundane to the sublime to the possibly quite dangerous.
To appreciate the potential danger, it helps to understand how GPT-3 works. Language models often
need to be trained for specific uses — a customer-service bot used by a retailer might need to be fine-
tuned with data about products, while a bot used by an airline would need to learn about flights. But
GPT-3 doesn’t need much extra training. Give GPT-3 a natural-language prompt — “I hereby resign
from Dunder-Mifflin” or “Dear John, I’m leaving you” — and the software will fill in the rest with text
that is eerily close to what a human would produce.
These aren’t canned responses. GPT-3 is capable of generating entirely original, coherent and
sometimes even factual prose. And not just prose — it can write poetry, dialogue, memes, computer
code and who knows what else.
GPT-3’s flexibility is a key advance. Matt Shumer, the chief executive of a company called OthersideAI,
is using GPT-3 to build a service that responds to email on your behalf — you write the gist of what
you’d like to say, and the computer creates a full, nuanced, polite email out of your bullet points.
Another company, Latitude, is using GPT-3 to build realistic, interactive characters in text-adventure
games. It works surprisingly well — the software is not only coherent but also can be quite inventive,
absurd and even funny.
Stew Fortier, a writer, created a zany satire using the software as a kind of muse.
Fortier fed GPT-3 a strange prompt: “Below is a transcript from an interview where Barack Obama
explained why he was banned from Golden Corral for life.” The system then filled in the rest of the
interview, running with the concept that Obama had been banned from an all-you-can-eat buffet.

3/27/22, 9:08 AMOpinion | How Do You Know a Human Wrote This? – The New York Times
Page 3 of 4https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/29/opinion/gpt-3-ai-automation.html
Obama: Yes. It’s true. I am no longer allowed in Golden Corral.
Interviewer: Is this because of your extensive shrimp-n-crab legs policy?
Obama: Absolutely.
Interviewer: What is your extensive shrimp-n-crab legs policy?
Obama: Oh, well, in brief, they were offering an all-you-can-eat shrimp-n-crab leg buffet, and I did not
hesitate. After I ate so much shrimp and crab that my stomach hurt, I would quietly sneak in and throw
more shrimp and crab onto my plate. I did this over and over again until I had cleaned out the buffet and
was full of shrimp-n-crab.
Yet software like GPT-3 raises the prospect of frightening misuse. If computers can produce large
amounts of humanlike text, how will we ever be able to tell humans and machines apart? In a research
paper detailing GPT-3’s power, its creators cite a litany of dangers, including “misinformation, spam,
phishing, abuse of legal and governmental processes, fraudulent academic essay writing and social
engineering pretexting.”
There are other problems. Because it was trained on text found online, it’s likely that GPT-3 mirrors
many biases found in society. How can we make sure the text it produces is not racist or sexist? GPT-3
also isn’t good at telling fact from fiction. “I gave it my own original three sentences about whales, and it
added original text — and the way I could tell it was original was that it was pretty much dead wrong,”
Janelle Shane, who runs a blog called AI Weirdness, told me.
To its credit, OpenAI has put in place many precautions. For now, the company is letting only a small
number of people use the system, and it is vetting each application produced with it. The company also
prohibits GPT-3 from impersonating humans — that is, all text produced by the software must disclose
that it was written by a bot. OpenAI has also invited outside researchers to study the system’s biases, in
the hope of mitigating them.
These precautions may be enough for now. But GPT-3 is so good at aping human writing that it
sometimes gave me chills. Not too long from now, your humble correspondent might be put out to
pasture by a machine — and you might even miss me when I’m gone.
Office Hours With Farhad Manjoo
Farhad wants to chat with readers on the phone. If you’re interested in talking to a New York Times
columnist about anything that’s on your mind, please fill out this form. Farhad will select a few readers to
call.

3/27/22, 9:08 AMOpinion | How Do You Know a Human Wrote This? – The New York Times
Page 4 of 4https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/29/opinion/gpt-3-ai-automation.html
The Times is committed to publishing a diversity of letters to the editor. We’d like to hear what you think about this or any of our articles.Here are some tips. And here’s our email: letters@nytimes.com.
Follow The New York Times Opinion section on Facebook, Twitter (@NYTopinion) and Instagram.

Custom Paper Help
Calculate your paper price
Pages (550 words)
Approximate price: -

Why Work with Us

Top Quality and Well-Researched Papers

We always make sure that writers follow all your instructions precisely. You can choose your academic level: high school, college/university or professional, and we will assign a writer who has a respective degree.

Professional and Experienced Academic Writers

We have a team of professional writers with experience in academic and business writing. Many are native speakers and able to perform any task for which you need help.

Free Unlimited Revisions

If you think we missed something, send your order for a free revision. You have 10 days to submit the order for review after you have received the final document. You can do this yourself after logging into your personal account or by contacting our support.

Prompt Delivery and 100% Money-Back-Guarantee

All papers are always delivered on time. In case we need more time to master your paper, we may contact you regarding the deadline extension. In case you cannot provide us with more time, a 100% refund is guaranteed.

Original & Confidential

We use several writing tools checks to ensure that all documents you receive are free from plagiarism. Our editors carefully review all quotations in the text. We also promise maximum confidentiality in all of our services.

24/7 Customer Support

Our support agents are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week and committed to providing you with the best customer experience. Get in touch whenever you need any assistance.

Try it now!

Calculate the price of your order

Total price:
$0.00

How it works?

Follow these simple steps to get your paper done

Place your order

Fill in the order form and provide all details of your assignment.

Proceed with the payment

Choose the payment system that suits you most.

Receive the final file

Once your paper is ready, we will email it to you.

Our Services

No need to work on your paper at night. Sleep tight, we will cover your back. We offer all kinds of writing services.

Essays

Essay Writing Service

No matter what kind of academic paper you need and how urgent you need it, you are welcome to choose your academic level and the type of your paper at an affordable price. We take care of all your paper needs and give a 24/7 customer care support system.

Admissions

Admission Essays & Business Writing Help

An admission essay is an essay or other written statement by a candidate, often a potential student enrolling in a college, university, or graduate school. You can be rest assurred that through our service we will write the best admission essay for you.

Reviews

Editing Support

Our academic writers and editors make the necessary changes to your paper so that it is polished. We also format your document by correctly quoting the sources and creating reference lists in the formats APA, Harvard, MLA, Chicago / Turabian.

Reviews

Revision Support

If you think your paper could be improved, you can request a review. In this case, your paper will be checked by the writer or assigned to an editor. You can use this option as many times as you see fit. This is free because we want you to be completely satisfied with the service offered.